Today, I became a true citizen of Luodong.

Two posts in one day? Can it be true, you ask?

Well.

When something as momentous as this happens, yes, it is true.

Ladies and gentlemen, 帥哥和美女: Today, I, Kerrin Grace Hensley….

Took out the trash.

I know, I know. I know what you’re thinking. How on Earth could such a mundane activity like taking out the trash warrant its own blog post?

Because in Taiwan, taking out the trash is kind of an adventure.

The arrival of the garbage and recycling trucks is announced by a jingle that is indistinguishable from the tune that ice cream trucks play. When you hear the song, you are supposed to rush downstairs with the appropriate type of waste (they divide it into categories by days–paper and glass two days of the week, plastic two days of the week, no service two days of the week). This scheme is just as crazy as it sounds.

In the excitement of throwing my trash into the back of the truck (10 points!!) I didn’t manage to snap a picture. Instead, enjoy this video I found, which was actually filmed in my town:

I feel like I truly belong in Taiwan now. 🙂

Until next time!

Kerry

Leave a comment